Reflection #13

I have been reading the book Teach Ye Diligently by President Boyd K. Packer, so that is what I have been thinking about lately. I just read the chapter on discipline and learned a lot. I don’t know much about discipline, but I trust that President Packer’s methods work.

Discipline tips that I want to apply to my own teaching:

  • When kids are talking over me, just stop talking.
  • Try to avoid calling out specific people when they are being disruptive. Everyone knows who the culprit is already.
  • Don’t overreact.
  • Correct at the right time and the right place (not always immediately or in front of a crowd).
  • It is better to prevent disruptions in the first place by building trust and always being consistent.
Leave a Reply

