Minimalist Challenge: The Capsule Wardrobe

When I came to college, two (of many) things happened.

  1. My interest in fashion increased.
  2. My interest in minimalism increased.

To satisfy my increased interest in fashion, I began designing and sewing more clothes that fit my style and my body.

To satisfy my interest in minimalism, I mostly just read articles and blogs on the internet about what other people have done to live a simpler life. Their ideas all sounded nice and dandy, but I was pretty intimidated by their level of commitment. I was never motivated enough to try out any of their ideas.

That changed when I came across a blog called “Unfancy” and learned about the idea of a capsule wardrobe. It’s basically a minimalist wardrobe challenge where you wear the same 40 pieces of clothing for a season (3 months). The 40 pieces include tops, bottoms, shoes, dresses, and outerwear. They do not include workout clothes or underwear.

I like this idea because you don’t necessarily have to get rid of your clothes forever, but you can get them out of your closet. Also, as I was cleaning out my closet to do this challenge, I realized I don’t wear much more than 40 pieces anyway, so it is not too extreme for me. I can also customize it to fit my lifestyle. Instead of having 40 pieces, I have 30 pieces for sure that I am allowed to wear. Then I gave myself a 10 piece buffer for Sunday clothes and other clothes that I’m not sure if I want/need in my wardrobe or not.

I am excited to see if I can follow through with this challenge for 3 months. Maybe I will even post outfits every once in a while. Anybody want to be my fashion photographer???

Leave a Reply

