Reflection #5

I obviously didn’t learn my lesson from last week because I am listening to music again…

Oh well. Next time.

This past Thursday I did my first observation in an actual school (an 8th grade wood shop class). And I get to go again to a different school tomorrow.

I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t life-changing or anything.

It reminded me that school is actually pretty normal, and that you don’t have to be this crazy excellent people-person to be a teacher. (Geoff’s class kind of makes it seems like you have to put on a show and be super prepared and have fun things to do every time you teach. Which I think is great, and I would love to do that every time, but there comes a point where you don’t have enough time, money, or energy to do those kinds of things. But I also understand that those things take practice, and they really do help you become a better teacher. It would be a useless class if Geoff just told us to be normal people teachers.)

Anyways…going to the 8th grade class kinda solidified my desire to teach sixth grade or younger if I could. And I would be kidding myself if I said it wasn’t because of my height. As silly and shallow as that sounds, I’m just being realistic.

But I also have had experiences teaching younger kids, and I have enjoyed that, so that is also why I want to teach sixth grade or younger.

As far as the “Act” part of a reflection, I think the main thing I need to do right now is talk to my guidance counselor lady to see if there are any special things I need to do to be able to teach younger children.

That’s that. Tune in next week for the next installment.

Leave a Reply

