Teaching Reflection #3

I started reading The Book of Mormon again, and I took my mom’s suggestion to look for examples of teaching and learning as I read through it.

At first, I was a little disappointed with the stuff I was noticing because basically what I was getting out of it was that I will have students like Laman and Lemuel in my classes and it will be a miserable experience.

However, then I read 1 Nephi 19, and I made a cool connection, if I do say so myself.

It’s kind of like a lesson plan, or a general outline of how to teach someone something:

18 And I, Nephi, have written these things unto my people, that perhaps I might persuade them that they would remember the Lord their Redeemer.

19 Wherefore, I speak unto all the house of Israel, if it so be that they should obtain these things.

20 For behold, I have workings in the spirit, which doth weary me even that all my joints are weak, for those who are at Jerusalem; for had not the Lord been merciful, to show unto me concerning them, even as he had prophets of old, I should have perished also.

21 And he surely did show unto the prophets of old all things concerning them; and also he did show unto many concerning us; wherefore, it must needs be that we know concerning them for they are written upon the plates of brass.

22 Now it came to pass that I, Nephi, did teach my brethren these things; and it came to pass that I did read many things to them, which were engraven upon the plates of brass, that they might know concerning the doings of the Lord in other lands, among people of old.

23 And I did read many things unto them which were written in the books of Moses; but that I might more fully persuade them to believe in the Lord their Redeemer I did read unto them that which was written by the prophet Isaiah; for I did liken all scriptures unto us, that it might be for our profit and learning.

24 Wherefore I spake unto them, saying: Hear ye the words of the prophet, ye who are a remnant of the house of Israel, a branch who have been broken off; hear ye the words of the prophet, which were written unto all the house of Israel, and liken them unto yourselves, that ye may have hope as well as your brethren from whom ye have been broken off; for after this manner has the prophet written.

In order to teach something, it is very important to use different methods of conveying information because people learn in different ways. Nephi in particular wrote, spoke, and read to his students. He learned the information in the first place because it was shown to him by God. Then he applied the things he was teaching to their own lives, and left them with a homework assignment to learn for themselves how to “liken.”

I can follow Nephi’s example myself by using mixed methods when I teach. This could be anything, like showing a movie clip, or reading a story, or acting something out, or writing on the board, or having the students move around the classroom.

One thought on “Teaching Reflection #3

Leave a Reply

